New guy from Sacramento, CA

When you join, please say hello and introduce yourself here.
skidoo
Call Sign: KK6YYG

New guy from Sacramento, CA

Post by skidoo » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:12 am

I have been offroading since 2008 when I bought a 2000 Land Cruiser and started modifying it. Photography had been my hobby and seeing photos of great locations in the remote southwest, decided I needed a 4wd to get there. My cousin calls my Cruiser world's most expensive camera bag. Quickly realized I needed to know more about how to drive offroad so took Dirty Toy School at Anza-Borrego where Bill Burke was one of the instructors. Have gone to CruiseMoab several times over the years to have fun and meet up with other CruiserHeads. Taken lots of offroad photo trips all over the Southwest. Last year on trip through Capitol Reef with my wife I buried the Cruiser to the frame in a mudhole, cell and CB were useless, help arrived and we got out okay, but when I got home got my Tech license and a few weeks ago got my General.
I am a member of TLCA and active on IH8MUD forum under this user name. I joined your forum as you have a focus on Ham radio and offroading and that fits my future directions.
I have installed a dual band along with TinyTrak4 and Android Tablet for APRS.
sandcruiser.jpg
sandcruiser.jpg (69.39 KiB) Viewed 819 times

DaveK
Site Admin
Call Sign: K6DTK

Re: New guy from Sacramento, CA

Post by DaveK » Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:25 pm

Cliff

Welcome to OAUSA!!!

As you have noticed, we have a different perspective on outdoor 4WD adventures, as we have a special focus on Ham Radio. For a host of reasons, including emergencies and long distance communications, Ham radio is not just the best option, but sometimes one of the very few options.