APRS Operating

APRS is challenging and intimidating but a useful tool in our hobby. discuss APRS in this forum.
hmfigueroa

Re: APRS Operating

#61

Post by hmfigueroa » Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:01 pm

O.F.,

You have it all nothing to it but to do it.


So do it already?

sdnative

Re: APRS Operating

#62

Post by sdnative » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:28 pm

OLLIE wrote:For some reason I get a "Data Base Error" alarm when certain waypoints enter the GPS but I imagine it's because I have a setting wrong somewhere.
Probably not a wrong setting. I was monitoring and logging the input from my TT4 using UIview. My GPS (Garmin 60csx) came up with a database error precisely when it received the bolded sentence from the log:

$GPWPL,3451.81,N,11810.37,W,WA6TK*61
$GPWPL,3423.10,N,11833.06,W,K6LDK-9*7A
$GPWPL,3338.73,N,11756.18,W,KI6IXQ-14*07
$GPWPL,3247.57,N,11706.06,W,KD7CVJ-9*2D
$GPWPL,3404.18,N,11803.02,W,KE6DQR-14*0D
$GPWPL,3424.29,N,11943.08,W,W6CGE-3*6B
$GPWPL,3411.17,N,11742.19,W,K4ELE*62
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3247.53,N,11706.17,W,KD7CVJ-9*29
$GPWPL,3238.78,N,11701.82,W,W6JRR-1*67
$GPWPL,3238.78,N,11701.82,W,W6JRR-1*67
$GPWPL,3238.35,N,11701.87,W,N3PV*27
$GPWPL,3238.35,N,11701.87,W,N3PV*27
$GPWPL,3249.68,N,11656.42,W,KA6DAC-9*36
$GPWPL,3249.68,N,11656.42,W,KA6DAC-9*36
$GPWPL,3420.87,N,11920.10,W,K6ERN*7D
$GPWPL,3420.87,N,11920.10,W,K6ERN*7D
$GPWPL,3247.59,N,11706.31,W,KD7CVJ-9*27
$GPWPL,3301.23,S,11653.34,E,KD6RSQ*38
$GPWPL,3245.27,N,11710.23,W,KE6ASO-1*22
$GPWPL,3315.20,N,11709.32,W,W6MAF-3*65
$GPWPL,3424.28,N,11943.08,W,W6CGE-3*6A
$GPWPL,3247.45,N,11706.31,W,KD7CVJ-9*2A
$GPWPL,3247.45,N,11706.31,W,KD7CVJ-9*2A
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,<748.11,S,11703.11,E,K6TZ*26
$GPWPL,3247.42,N,11706.29,W,KD7CVJ-9*24
$GPWPL,3247.42,N,11706.29,W,KD7CVJ-9*24
$GPWPL,3238.05,N,11702.00,W,WB6YTE*38
$GPWPL,3238.05,N,11702.00,W,WB6YTE*38
$GPWPL,3238.05,N,11702.00,W,WB6YTE*38
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3348.95,N,11807.54,W,KF6ECO-14*0D

K6TZ belongs to:

K6TZ
SANTA BARBARA AMATEUR RAD CLB INC
PO BOX 3232
Santa Barbara, CA 93130-3232
USA


It is clearly an incorrectly formatted string, but it is caused by my TNC or the APRS station? Not sure yet...

User avatar
OLLIE
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:31 am
Call Sign: K6JYB
Location: Sweet Home Alabama!!!

Re: APRS Operating

#63

Post by OLLIE » Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:55 pm

sdnative wrote:
OLLIE wrote:For some reason I get a "Data Base Error" alarm when certain waypoints enter the GPS but I imagine it's because I have a setting wrong somewhere.
Probably not a wrong setting. I was monitoring and logging the input from my TT4 using UIview. My GPS (Garmin 60csx) came up with a database error precisely when it received the bolded sentence from the log:

$GPWPL,3451.81,N,11810.37,W,WA6TK*61
$GPWPL,3423.10,N,11833.06,W,K6LDK-9*7A
$GPWPL,3338.73,N,11756.18,W,KI6IXQ-14*07
$GPWPL,3247.57,N,11706.06,W,KD7CVJ-9*2D
$GPWPL,3404.18,N,11803.02,W,KE6DQR-14*0D
$GPWPL,3424.29,N,11943.08,W,W6CGE-3*6B
$GPWPL,3411.17,N,11742.19,W,K4ELE*62
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3247.53,N,11706.17,W,KD7CVJ-9*29
$GPWPL,3238.78,N,11701.82,W,W6JRR-1*67
$GPWPL,3238.78,N,11701.82,W,W6JRR-1*67
$GPWPL,3238.35,N,11701.87,W,N3PV*27
$GPWPL,3238.35,N,11701.87,W,N3PV*27
$GPWPL,3249.68,N,11656.42,W,KA6DAC-9*36
$GPWPL,3249.68,N,11656.42,W,KA6DAC-9*36
$GPWPL,3420.87,N,11920.10,W,K6ERN*7D
$GPWPL,3420.87,N,11920.10,W,K6ERN*7D
$GPWPL,3247.59,N,11706.31,W,KD7CVJ-9*27
$GPWPL,3301.23,S,11653.34,E,KD6RSQ*38
$GPWPL,3245.27,N,11710.23,W,KE6ASO-1*22
$GPWPL,3315.20,N,11709.32,W,W6MAF-3*65
$GPWPL,3424.28,N,11943.08,W,W6CGE-3*6A
$GPWPL,3247.45,N,11706.31,W,KD7CVJ-9*2A
$GPWPL,3247.45,N,11706.31,W,KD7CVJ-9*2A
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,<748.11,S,11703.11,E,K6TZ*26
$GPWPL,3247.42,N,11706.29,W,KD7CVJ-9*24
$GPWPL,3247.42,N,11706.29,W,KD7CVJ-9*24
$GPWPL,3238.05,N,11702.00,W,WB6YTE*38
$GPWPL,3238.05,N,11702.00,W,WB6YTE*38
$GPWPL,3238.05,N,11702.00,W,WB6YTE*38
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3281.27,N,11703.20,W,K6EPS-9*7F
$GPWPL,3348.95,N,11807.54,W,KF6ECO-14*0D

K6TZ belongs to:

K6TZ
SANTA BARBARA AMATEUR RAD CLB INC
PO BOX 3232
Santa Barbara, CA 93130-3232
USA


It is clearly an incorrectly formatted string, but it is caused by my TNC or the APRS station? Not sure yet...
Very good catch Eric... That makes sense now.
"OLLIE"
(K6JYB)


APRS
K6JYB ("BugEater")
K6JYB-7 (VX-8R)


http://www.facebook.com/FJOllie

"Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a difference in the world, the Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan


CHECK OUT THE OUTDOOR ADVENTURE USA AMATEUR RADIO NET:
Every Thursday night at 7:30pm PST

Repeater
146.385+ PL: 146.2 Keller Peak (Echolink Equipped)

User avatar
cruiserlarry
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2775
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:23 pm
Call Sign: W6LPB
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: APRS Operating

#64

Post by cruiserlarry » Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:13 pm

Ollie -

What are you using to connect your DM-710A to your Toughbook ?

Since the Kenwood has an internal TNC, is there a direct cable from the DM-710A to the USB port on the laptop ?

(Guess what I'm thinking about doing soon ??? :o :lol:
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear really bright, until they start talking

W6LPB / WPOK492

Become a DIRTY PARTS FACEBOOK fan !!!

User avatar
OLLIE
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:31 am
Call Sign: K6JYB
Location: Sweet Home Alabama!!!

Re: APRS Operating

#65

Post by OLLIE » Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:31 pm

cruiserlarry wrote:Ollie -

What are you using to connect your DM-710A to your Toughbook ?

Since the Kenwood has an internal TNC, is there a direct cable from the DM-710A to the USB port on the laptop ?

(Guess what I'm thinking about doing soon ??? :o :lol:
Right now I haven't tried interfacing it. I have the cable hooked up but haven't had the time to try enything yet. There are two serial typr ports on the back of the head unit for the Kenwood. One goes to the USB port. The other cable splits off to the microphone and headset jacks of the computer. The USB port cable is used to update your radio setting (freqs, preset, settings, etc.) with software on your computer. The cable going to the headphone and microphone jacks is the data cable. It is used for the echolink and APRS interface. THese two cables are sold seperately and the programming software for your computer is a free download from Kenwood.

The way I am running APRS right now is through my Garmin GPSMap 478. There is a cable that plugs into the side of the faceplate of the KEnwood that you tie into the data cable of your GPS unit. It then plots other APRS users on your GPS like waypoints and the radio picks up your GPS location through your GPS. So in reality, a laptop is not even necessary when you are using the Kenwood 710.

That being said, I need to play with getting my radio to plot stuff onto maps on the laptop. I only have UI-View downloaded on the laptop right now. I don't know what else I need to load onto it. Maybe if Hector or another APRS guru comes to the BPS Ham Radio Test Session and M&G this next time we can play with it and figure it out.

I'll get some pictures of the setup and post them up for you.
"OLLIE"
(K6JYB)


APRS
K6JYB ("BugEater")
K6JYB-7 (VX-8R)


http://www.facebook.com/FJOllie

"Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a difference in the world, the Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan


CHECK OUT THE OUTDOOR ADVENTURE USA AMATEUR RADIO NET:
Every Thursday night at 7:30pm PST

Repeater
146.385+ PL: 146.2 Keller Peak (Echolink Equipped)

User avatar
cruiserlarry
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2775
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:23 pm
Call Sign: W6LPB
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: APRS Operating

#66

Post by cruiserlarry » Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:39 am

I understand about the direct link to the Kenwood with an external GPS, which then displays on the DM-710A head unit...I'm wondering how to output the Kenwood's TNc / 2m data to my laptop, which has an integrated GPS and the APRS mapping program UI-View 32 and Precision Maps 8.1 for a moving map view of the other stations in realtime... :mrgreen:
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear really bright, until they start talking

W6LPB / WPOK492

Become a DIRTY PARTS FACEBOOK fan !!!

User avatar
OLLIE
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:31 am
Call Sign: K6JYB
Location: Sweet Home Alabama!!!

Re: APRS Operating

#67

Post by OLLIE » Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:47 am

cruiserlarry wrote:I understand about the direct link to the Kenwood with an external GPS, which then displays on the DM-710A head unit...I'm wondering how to output the Kenwood's TNc / 2m data to my laptop, which has an integrated GPS and the APRS mapping program UI-View 32 and Precision Maps 8.1 for a moving map view of the other stations in realtime... :mrgreen:
I think that all you are going to have to do is run the data wire from the radio (that plugs into the faceplate) to a data wire in your serial port on your laptop and you'll be set. You won't need any external TNC's anymore since it's built into the radio.
"OLLIE"
(K6JYB)


APRS
K6JYB ("BugEater")
K6JYB-7 (VX-8R)


http://www.facebook.com/FJOllie

"Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a difference in the world, the Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan


CHECK OUT THE OUTDOOR ADVENTURE USA AMATEUR RADIO NET:
Every Thursday night at 7:30pm PST

Repeater
146.385+ PL: 146.2 Keller Peak (Echolink Equipped)

User avatar
cruiserlarry
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2775
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 10:23 pm
Call Sign: W6LPB
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: APRS Operating

#68

Post by cruiserlarry » Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:37 pm

OLLIE wrote:I think that all you are going to have to do is run the data wire from the radio (that plugs into the faceplate) to a data wire in your serial port on your laptop and you'll be set. You won't need any external TNC's anymore since it's built into the radio.
That would work IF the Kenwood is able to output it's TNC data, as opposed to just allowing the input of GPS data...will the DM-710A do that ?
Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear really bright, until they start talking

W6LPB / WPOK492

Become a DIRTY PARTS FACEBOOK fan !!!

User avatar
OLLIE
OAUSA Board Member
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:31 am
Call Sign: K6JYB
Location: Sweet Home Alabama!!!

Re: APRS Operating

#69

Post by OLLIE » Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:08 pm

cruiserlarry wrote:
OLLIE wrote:I think that all you are going to have to do is run the data wire from the radio (that plugs into the faceplate) to a data wire in your serial port on your laptop and you'll be set. You won't need any external TNC's anymore since it's built into the radio.
That would work IF the Kenwood is able to output it's TNC data, as opposed to just allowing the input of GPS data...will the DM-710A do that ?
Yes sir... The TM-D710A swings both directions (IN and OUT) with the faceplate cable. I don't know about the DM-710A thoug...??? :lol:
"OLLIE"
(K6JYB)


APRS
K6JYB ("BugEater")
K6JYB-7 (VX-8R)


http://www.facebook.com/FJOllie

"Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a difference in the world, the Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan


CHECK OUT THE OUTDOOR ADVENTURE USA AMATEUR RADIO NET:
Every Thursday night at 7:30pm PST

Repeater
146.385+ PL: 146.2 Keller Peak (Echolink Equipped)

sdnative

Re: APRS Operating

#70

Post by sdnative » Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:26 pm

I am having an issue with aprs.fi right now. When viewed in firefox 3.0.11, the map will center around where I should be, but I do not see a position icon or a track. In IE 6.0, I can see the position, but it almost always crashes right after I put in my callsign to search.

Anyone else having this issue? What plugin does the site require? Maybe I can update these. Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “APRS (AUTOMATIC PACKET REPORTING SYSTEM)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest