Preferred Bullet, 45ACP

General discussion of firearms, ammunition, hunting and related topics
ssc

Preferred Bullet, 45ACP

Post by ssc » Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:18 am

During the last 30 days, I have been asked, on over ten different occasions, what bullet I recommend for the 45ACP. I am no expert, but do study this area of terminal ballistics. I read the results of the testing from the LEO agencies. These are put on by Win, ATK, etc. I read and correspond with those experts who do independent testing and try to get info from OIS. I still have contacts in LEO and some run the ranges for these dept's and get info on what is working and failures--though, as I get older, my buddy's are retiring ;). I also do my own informal testing. What I have found over the years is that the 45 had some issues with hard barrier penetration, and the hollowpoints clogged and they didn't expand. Over the last 10-15 years, the ammo companies have been been addressing this issue and most of todays bullets are designed with the thought that they will defeat barriers and still expand and penetrate. One of the main tests is to shoot the bullets through 4plys of denin into ballistic gel. They look to see if the bullet clogs and fails to penetrate/overpenetrate. Often the bullet will clog with cloth and fail to expand and then overpenetrate. These tests, developed by the FBI prefers 12 inches of penetration in bare gel and after barriers. It is the position that this will ensure that the bullet will be able to penetrate to the vitals.