OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

A preview of future nets
User avatar
DaveK
Site Admin
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:33 am
Call Sign: K6DTK
Location: Southern California

OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#1

Post by DaveK » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:04 pm

WHERE TO FIND OUTDOOR GEAR

With the help of the internet and the increasing popularity of outdoor activities, the selection of gear has never been better. Hardly a week goes by where we don't add another supplier to our list. Everyone's list is a reflection of personal interests, but there are a whole bunch of companies out there that everyone can use, regardless of personal interests.

Our purpose tonight is to cover many different types of outdoor activities and the places where you can spend your money. If you are like us, we don't know we need something until we see it in a magazine, book, advertisement, catalog, or in use by a friend. The ingenuity of outdoorsmen is infinite, and someone is always coming up with something that makes our outdoor activities easier, safer, quicker or just better. But, often the locations where this stuff is to be found, is not well known.

That is where the net this week will come into play. This net, more so than most, will be helpful with your participation. We all have businesses that we turn to for our gear, many of which may not be well known. This net will be the opportunity to let others know about these places. So, add your favorite suppliers and join in the discussion.
DaveK
K6DTK


Extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice.
Moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue.

User avatar
DaveK
Site Admin
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:33 am
Call Sign: K6DTK
Location: Southern California

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#2

Post by DaveK » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:06 am

In coming up with an approach for organizing the net, I thought about dividing it up into categories, like hunting, camping, shooting, and so on. The thought didn’t last too long though, as I realized that there is so much cross over that most products could be placed in several categories. So, what you see below is just a conscious stream of places I have found over many years of enjoying the outdoors, hunting, shooting, camping, Ham Radio operation, 4 wheeling, and the like.

Much credit for discovering many of these places goes to friends that I have spent time with, enjoying these activities. I must also give credit to the endless hours of research I have done over the years, which is something we always promote on these nets - in other words, do your research and ask questions! And, of course, there is no getting around one other fact - we have learned a great deal listening to those who participate in the nets as well as our speakers.

In listing places to find outdoor gear as below, there is no significance to the order in which they appear. Some of these places carry more gear than others, and thus, the picture, below. But, there is no way that any one store or business can carry it all, and thus, the other links, below.

BPS-2.jpg

Here is my starting list, to be supplemented by your input.

1Cabela’s - https://www.cabelas.com/
2.Bass Pro Shops -https://stores.basspro.com/
3.Gander Outdoors - https://www.ganderoutdoors.com/
4.Kirkham’s Outdoor Products - http://www.kirkhams.com/index.php?p=404
5.Partner Steel - https://partnersteel.com/
6.Zodi - http://zodi.com/
7.Storm Industries - http://www.stormind.net/
8.JAGMTE - http://www.jagmte.com/
9.Fire Force Bags - http://fireforceusa.com/
10.Extreme Outback - http://www.extremeoutback.com/
11.Maxpedition - https://www.maxpedition.com/
12.Brazos Bags - https://www.flyingcirclegear.com/brazos-backpack/
13.Equipped To Survive - http://www.equipped.org/
14.Equipt Expedition Outfitters - https://www.equipt1.com/h/
15.Sierra Trading Post - https://www.sierratradingpost.com/
16.Deluth Trading - https://www.duluthtrading.com/
17.Old Coleman Parts - https://www.oldcolemanparts.com/home.php
18.Zarges Cases - https://www.zargescases.com/products/ca ... dard/k470/
19.Blockade Runner Blankets and Ponchos - http://blockaderunner.com/Catalog/catpg28.htm
20.Sinclair International / Brownells - https://www.sinclairintl.com/
21.Mid South Shooters Supply - https://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/
22.Harrison Custom 1911s - https://shop.harrisoncustom.com/
23.Forster Products - https://www.forsterproducts.com/
24.Emergency Essentials - https://beprepared.com/Default.asp
25.NRA/CRPA - http://www.crpa.org/ & https://home.nra.org/
26.Spikes Tactical - https://www.spikestactical.com/
27.Coravin Wine Systems - https://www.coravin.com/wine-systems.html
28.Cutting Edge Bullets - https://cuttingedgebullets.com/
29.Lehigh Defense - https://www.lehighdefense.com/
30.Harrell’s Precision - http://harrellsprec.com/index.php
31.L. E. Wilson - https://lewilson.com/
32.Precision Relaoding - https://www.precisionreloading.com/
33.K&M Reloading - http://kmshooting.com/
34.Handloading Magizine - https://www.wolfeoutdoorsports.com/hand ... scription/
35.Klein Tool Bags (Made inUSA) - https://www.kleintools.com/catalog/canv ... -tool-bags
36.Pelican Cases and Flashlights - http://www.pelican.com/
37.Cold Steel - https://www.coldsteel.com/review/product/list/id/624/
38.Ratchet Straps USA - https://www.ratchetstraps.com/
39.Stukey’s Shooting - http://www.shootingbenches.com/
40.Breedlove Antenna Mounts and Connectors - https://www.breedlovemounts.com/home.html
41.DX Engineering - https://www.dxengineering.com/
42.Cable X-perts - http://www.cablexperts.com/cfdocs/index ... USA_ship=1
43.Flashlights
•Surefire - https://www.surefire.com/
•Streamlight - https://www.streamlight.com/
•Fenix - https://www.fenixlighting.com/
•Mag Light - http://maglite.com/
44.Goal Zero - https://www.goalzero.com/
45.Sportsman’s Guide - https://www.sportsmansguide.com/
DaveK
K6DTK


Extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice.
Moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue.

Diesel4x
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:49 pm
Call Sign: KF6KOC

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#3

Post by Diesel4x » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:47 pm

Thanks for early check in, KF6KOC Randy.

JackM-KK6WXQ
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:12 pm
Call Sign: KK6WXQ

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#4

Post by JackM-KK6WXQ » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:47 pm

Looking forward to the net.

Please check me in!

Jack M.
KK6WXQ

User avatar
kevinhum55
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:23 pm
Call Sign: W6RIP

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#5

Post by kevinhum55 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:22 pm

Early Check In

W6RIP

Thank You,
Kevin

User avatar
KK6DYO
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:07 pm
Call Sign: KK6DYO

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#6

Post by KK6DYO » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:34 pm

Please check me in. Thanks.

Greg
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:00 am
Call Sign: KM6SYX

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#7

Post by Greg » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:36 pm

Early Check In Please



KM6SYX
Greg

HsuuJrt
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:41 pm
Call Sign: Kg5pmn

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#8

Post by HsuuJrt » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:53 pm

Please give me an early check-in.
James kg5pmn

User avatar
KK6DYO
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:07 pm
Call Sign: KK6DYO

Discounts on Gear

#9

Post by KK6DYO » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:54 pm

I'm on two mailing lists, Active Junky and SVM Gift Cards.

Active Junky sends out en email every day or two with discounts on various vendors' products. For example, this mailing provided 12% back from Cabela's when you "click through" to Cabela's web site to make purchases. Cabela's is featured every few months. Various other vendors are also featured.
ActiveJunky.png

SVM sells gift cards, sometimes discounted, though eBay. Here's a recent offer for a Cabela's $100 gift card for $85. I've purchased $100 gift cards for $80 before.
SVM.png

You might combine these Active Junky and SVM discounts and pick up Cabela's products for 27% off!

While this looks like it might be a scam, it has worked for me, but you'll need to stock up on the Cabela's (or other) gift cards in advance then wait for the right Active Junky deal, or suffer with only 15% off.

k9atk
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:58 pm
Call Sign: K9ATK
Location: Aurora colorado

Re: OAUSA Net - August 9, 2018 - Where To Find Outdoor Gear

#10

Post by k9atk » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:58 pm

Please check in
K9ATK BRIAN
KD0EXI CHEYENNE
KD0GPE AUSTIN
K9FOG TRISH
W9RIK RICK
THANKS

Post Reply

Return to “OAUSA AMATEUR RADIO NET PREVIEW”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest